Abandon all hope ye who enter here

I’ve been going back and forth on whether or not I was going to do a post like this. I always feel like I need to be some outgoing cheerful person when it comes to the book community, but I feel like this is something that I need to say, but also something that really needs to be said.

For the last 3 months, I have been battling a very deep depression. It started out pretty small from June and July but hit a very high peak in August. Most of it is work related, the fact that I have graduated University with a degree in humanities and have no skills is making finding a job completely impossible. But it’s more than that causing this. The peak I hit this month has to do with a boy. I don’t think I want to get into details, but long story short we had a very intense but short relationship and the end of it hit me hard. We were at two places in our lives and could not make it work. But that kind of brings me to the full reason for this depression which is I look at all the people around me and I see people with a purpose. People have careers, they’re in stable relationships, they’re living a life of contentment and, for some, even happiness. They may not have all they want, and they may be struggling, but they’re doing something for themselves. They have a trajectory for their lives; meanwhile I feel like I’m doing nothing, with no prospects to do anything, and I feel like all I’m doing it wasting space. And I don’t mean that in any sort of self harm/suicidal way, but I’m not contributing to the world. I’m not putting anything into it. And this is making things very hard for me. I want more than anything to be a self reliant person who supports themself, but instead I live at home and continue to rely on the support of other people. It’s making me feel like a drain on other people and is severely damaging the way I feel about myself.

To be honest though, that’s all background information. While I think that how I am feeling and what I am dealing with is important, that’s not what I aimed to do with this post. What I aimed to do with this post is to ask the question: why the hell did no one warn me this was coming? I have many friends who are in their late 20s and 30s who fall into the category I mentioned earlier, those who know where their life is headed. Not one of them warned me about this mid 20s crisis. And I figured at first “okay… maybe I’m the only one?” but no. After talking to most of the people I know, they all said they went through the same thing. So that brings me back to my question, why didn’t anyone tell me to expect this? Yes, a lot of people told me getting a job with a History degree would be impossible, but no one prepared me even remotely close to what was coming when I graduated University. No one told me that I would have a period in my life where I didn’t know what my purpose was, what I wanted, or even where I wanted to live? People who graduate High School complain that they need to decide “the rest of their life” when they pick a college, but really they have nothing to worry about because those decisions come after University. I’m 23 now, I need to decide what career path I want to take (assuming I can even get hired), and I need to decide where in the world I want to do it, and I even am facing the problem of having to decide if my friendships are worth keeping. I’m realistic enough to know that if I take a job now in a certain city, I will likely get stuck there for the rest of my life. And that’s okay, but that’s a huge decision to make, and no one warned me it was coming.

And don’t get me wrong, I don’t expect to be coddled. I know that life is a bitch and you just gotta deal with it, but a little heads up would have been nice?  There is a very vocal generation that talks about the state of jobs in the world and there is an incredibly vocal generation that discusses the many things people my age are facing, but no one REALLY tells you what it’s like to be in this situation. I didn’t join extra curricular activities in University. I also didn’t do any internships. I did what I needed to do to get my degree and I left, and because of that I am struggling. No one told me that the only way to get a job is by having contacts, and that the contacts would be made in University. There are so many things I would have done differently had I known this was coming. But no one talks about it. Why? I assume competition. But we are all, or most of us, dealing with the same things, we should help each other when we can.

What I’m trying to say with this entire ramble discussion is that I’m not okay, I will be eventually, but I’m not right now, and that I’m struggling to find my place in a world that has left me completely unprepared for this period in my life and a world that has left me feeling incredibly alone in the challenges I am facing.

6 thoughts on “Abandon all hope ye who enter here

  1. I completely understand where you are coming from! Getting a degree that doesn’t really get you a job in the real world can really get you thinking when a few years pass and you’re wondering WTH am I doing with my life?!? I’ve suffered from slight depression because of my pregnancies. I have to put my career on hold because I am not the bread winner. The only thing I can think of that can help you with your career is becoming a Teacher, maybe even eventually a History Teacher. That way you can be around what you love, in a way. Here in the U.S. it’s fairly easy to become a substitute teacher, especially if you have a Bachelor’s degree. I think once you get in that ‘world’, I think there are resources available to help you along the way. And you’re young. You have time to figure things out. Almost everyone goes through what you’re going through right now. You’re not alone.

    Like

    • I have thought about being a teacher but I just have no interest in teaching and that’s the biggest problem I am having right now 😦
      But thank you so much, it’s nice to know I’m not alone despite how alone I feel right now.

      Like

  2. If it helps, no one prepared me for it either. I ended up taking a job in customer service (which I still have) while volunteering to get experience to work in the place I wanted. While I now also get to work in the place that I want, the actual job that I could spend the rest of my life doing requires grad school. In the meantime I get to experience and ask questions and just wonder if it’ll one day be worth it all.
    I know that our situations are not the same, but I hope it helps to know that other people experience it. The world is cruel that way, to leave us on this pathway seemingly alone and in the dark. It’s not fun. I hope things get better. (((virtual hugs))) from one bookworm to another.

    Like

  3. I’m sorry to hear you’re going through that! I was unemployed for almost two years after I graduated college and it was an awful time. You’re absolutely right, people should warned other people of this because it does happens enough to be a problem. In my situation, I should’ve started looking for a part time job on my second year in college if I wanted to secure me a good job after I graduated… but I didn’t know that when I was on my second year in college.

    And to be honest, I’ve been working in the same place for a year now and I still feel lost :/

    Liked by 1 person

    • The thought of being unemployed for 2 years is so stressful to me! Like the idea of the disappointment I’m going to cause in other people is so debilitating to think about.
      I wonder at what age and what point in a job that we begin to feel like we belong there..

      Like

Leave a Reply

