The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

6599342★★★★★

Pages: 841 pages
Publication: August, 2005.
Publisher: Penguin Canada
Summary:

Forty years ago, Harriet Vanger disappeared from the secluded island owned by the Vanger family. No one saw her leave the island, and no body was ever found. Her uncle, Henrik, is convinced she was murdered by a member of her own dysfunctional family. Disgraced journalist Mikael Blomkvist is hired to investigate.
But when Blomkvist uncovers new evidence, it suddenly becomes too dangerous to proceed alone. Enter Lisbeth Salander, a twenty-four-year-old pierced and tattooed genius hacker with the wisdom of someone twice her age – and a terrifying capacity for ruthlessness to go with it. She’s unwilling to take orders, rides a motorbike like a Hells Angel, and handles makeshift weapons with a skill born of rage.
Together this unlikely team unravels a dark and appalling family history. But the Vangers are a secretive clan, and Blomkvist and Salander are about to find out how far they’re prepared to go to protect themselves.

My Thoughts:

This is one of those books that I always knew I should read, but never actually did. About 3-4 years ago I tried to start this but the beginning just bored me intensely so I quit but damn I wish I didn’t.
This ended up being SO good. I haven’t been this invested or sold on a book in so long! I read 841 pages in 5 days and that’s with me watching 2 seasons of Grey’s Anatomy in the same time period. I absolutely flew through this book and have already begun reading the second book because I just need more.

The plot is actually why I picked this book up when I did. Long story short, I was in the mood for mystery books and I was in a short supply so I had to choose this one! I loved the mystery, the intricacy, the intensity and the chaos and honestly I just loved the entire plot. It was everything I needed, I loved the setting, the writing was so so riveting, I just adored this book from page 1 to page 841.

Characters though. Blomkvist is someone I really grew to just love. I loved his attitude and his intensity and his desire to do good and his emotions. Larsson wrote him so well and fleshed him out perfectly. I love his lifestyle and his personality and I feel like I know him so well now even though I don’t remember this happening.
And Salander, I love her deeply. I will admit she did things I didn’t fully agree with, nor understand. But they were so in character for her that I didn’t really care in the end. She’s such a strong independent character but is also so incredibly childish and broken sometimes that it hurts your heart. The end of the book, literally the last 2 pages, broke my heart for her just a little bit because we saw one instance of emotion from her and it turned out so poorly.

So yeah I mean I loved this? Like deeply. Something like 75% of the people I’m friends with on here gave this a 3 star or less and I just can’t understand where they saw flaws when I did not. I will say there were like 3 things that did bother me but they did not hugely impact my overall feelings about the book. For the 4 people on Goodreads who haven’t read this book, I really advise you to because it was just so engrossing!
Now to go watch the American movie and read the rest of the trilogy. After those I will determine my mood about the 4th novel and I will watch all the Swedish movies.

If you want to buy the book with free shipping, you can do so here 🙂 BUY THE BOOK HERE: http://www.bookdepository.com/The-Girl-with-the-Dragon-Tattoo-Stieg-Larsson-Martin-Wenner/9780857054036/?a_aid=mel

Leave a Reply

