IT by Stephen King

28094574★★★

Pages: 1090 Pages
Publication: September 1986.
Publisher: Signet
Summary:

Welcome to Derry, Maine. It’s a small city, a place as hauntingly familiar as your own hometown. Only in Derry the haunting is real.
They were seven teenagers when they first stumbled upon the horror. Now they are grown-up men and women who have gone out into the big world to gain success and happiness. But the promise they made twenty-eight years ago calls them reunite in the same place where, as teenagers, they battled an evil creature that preyed on the city’s children. Now, children are being murdered again and their repressed memories of that terrifying summer return as they prepare to once again battle the monster lurking in Derry’s sewers.

My Thoughts:

Wow was this ever a journey and I have a lot to say about it so buckle up my friends.

To start, I feel the need to say I DID like this book. I did. IT is a movie I have always enjoyed and have always wanted to read where the story came from.
But wow am I ever disappointed with it in all honesty.

I listened to this entire book as an audiobook because I did not have it in me to read 1100 pages right now, that amounted to about 45 hours of listening. For the first 15 hours, or about 350 pages, I was super into this. I was enjoying myself, I really was, but then I just started to getannoyed. It’s not that anything annoying was happening, but I was listening to the same man for 15 hours and I was only 1/3 of the way done the book. I was getting irritated at the like excessive details that Stephen King puts into his books. I appreciate details, I really do, but I don’t need a play by play of someone going pee. I know that it involves removing pants and sitting and washing hands and all that but you can cut out half a page of text just by saying “soandso went to the washroom.” So about the last 300 pages I just wanted to be done. I wanted it to be over. I wasn’t enjoying myself because it was so long and I was just losing steam. So unfortunately that really took over a lot of my time when it came to trying to enjoy the story.

So the actual book. Here’s the thing, even when watching the movie IT, the end has always kind of bored me slightly. I just loved THE story of IT but I’ve never actually liked where he went with the whole idea. So it does make sense that the end of the book was boring me. But the book just made it WORSE. I don’t know but there was so much confusion with the back and forth between childhood and adulthood and it was so confusing at times. There was a lot of other character’s perspectives I didn’t fully understand, and given the fact that there is 1100 pages, I felt like there were some aftermath parts missing near the end. So overall the ending wasn’t good but I still LOVE the idea of IT.

Now this next section is going to be a little spoilery so if you haven’t read the book you will be spoiled (even if you’ve seen the movie).
To start, the adultery between Beverly and Bill made no sense to me. Like the inclusion of it just was a bit confusing to me. I don’t really understand why it was included and honestly I preferred in the movie where she just ends up with Ben because Bill is happily married. Again, that’s just a preference thing but yeah one little irksome moment.
My biggest ?????????? moment though is in the last 100 pages. I don’t actually understand the scene when ELEVEN year old Beverly had sex with all 6 boys in some sort of orgy moment.. I just don’t understand and I have actually tried to read up on it to see if I could find an explanation but I haven’t found anything so if any of you who have read this book have ANY sort of explanation as to why this was included I would love to know because it was very uncomfortable to read.

So umm yeah Idk I liked it, I didn’t love it. I am not sure after these last 2 books if Stephen King is the author for me. He has VERY atmospheric stories to me where the atmosphere and tone he sets up are the best parts of the book. I still own Salem’s Lot so I will read it one day and I have always wanted to read Misery, The Green Mile, and Pet Semetary so I do have the desire to try him again but yeah overall I wasn’t hugely impressed with this book and I think it has to do with the size.
Big is apparently not always better.

Leave a Reply

